North Yorkshire Listed Buildings

Preserving the heritage of North Yorkshire

In 21st century Britain we live in a society rich with influence and heritage from our glorious past.

Part of this precious heritage includes historical buildings, estates and even entire villages. Old churches, houses and civic buildings are valued by tourists and citizens alike. The understanding of their importance is growing and local authorities all around the country are involved in implementing measures and rules with the aim to protect many structures that reflect British history.

Conservation Areas and Listed Buildings are amongst such measures. These are areas of our country subject to special regulation because of their architectural and/or historical value.

In the case of North Yorkshire, the county boasts a rich legacy from Roman and Viking influence in the 1st, 2nd and 7th centuries respectively and the Middle Ages, through to the Georgian and Victorian eras and more modern times.

Between 2005 and 2010 the North Yorkshire and Lower Tees Valley historic landscape characterisation project was carried out, in order to identify and describe the presence of historic components in the counties landscape. The programme of geographic information systems (GIS) mapped and analysed the landscape. The project has proved to be very useful in understanding how different areas of the county have changed over time and how to manage future changes that still preserve their unique features.

North Yorkshire has 273 Conservation Areas around its seven Districts (Craven, Harrogate, Hambleton, Richmondshire, Ryedale, Scarborough and Selby). Every district in the county has the power to designate its own conservation areas and has the responsibility and duty to ensure that any new development remains sympathetic to the unique aesthetic character of the surrounding area.

If you live in a Conservation Area and/or are the owner of one of the North Yorkshire Listed Buildings, making any changes to your property, even minor ones, requires special consent. Each council in North Yorkshire implements a number of controls related to “extensions, additions and alterations to roofs, the cladding of buildings and the installation of satellite dishes” in order to ensure the aesthetics of the area are not compromised or lost. Property owners of listed buildings must obtain consent from their relevant borough council before any changes are carried out to help prevent insensitive development and preserve the historical significance of heritage sites. Even apparently insignificant works such as changing a window or painting the exterior or interior of a building can affect its unique character.

Professional, specialist tradesmen need to be appointed to carry out these works to the appropriate standard. At we are one such company. We are highly skilled, specialist contractors, trained in the art of restoring and replacing sash and casement windows. Typical of Georgian and Victorian architecture these original window sets are synonymous with their eras; beautifully crafted windows and frames, made to bespoke specifications – the same ethos work to.

When it comes to preserving the special historical character and atmosphere of an environment, we are particularly sympathetic and will strive, where possible, to restore existing windows. When this is not possible we will create replacement units that perfectly match the originals, ensuring the unique features of the property are not lost.

If you own or are responsible for a Listed Building or Conservation Area in North Yorkshire, you can rely on us for any restoration work your sash and casement windows may require. Contact us on 0113 815 0058 or email to arrange your free survey.

Sharing is caring!

Posted in Sash & Casement Windows, Doors and tagged , , , , , , .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.